•  

Montessori pedagogics

Meadows Montessori – an introduction

The Montessori pedagogy was developed by Dr. Maria Montessori, the first female doctor in Italy, at the beginning of the twentieth century and is based on the recognition that children, following an inner developmental plan, are building themselves and undergoing various so-called sensitive periods. Sensitive periods are phases of particular susceptibility to learning contents of different kinds, phases in which the children acquire a certain learning content in a very short time, with absolute ease and sustainably (for example, a language).

The teacher can adapt the prepared environment in the Kindergarten on the basis of their observations and findings, in such a way that the child can always find materials which correspond to their current development and support their current learning steps.


The Montessori World comprises
5 environments:

Exercises of daily life or Practical Life

They are among the first activities in a Montessori environment and include a variety of domestic activities. They correspond to the sensitivity to movement and promote the development of coordinated fine and large motor movements. It is purely the doing, so the how of the movements and manipulations are important in this area. Activities in practical life serve the child`s inner development, especially physical, mental and moral development.

Montessori language

Working with the activities of practical life often brings things up for discussion for the first time. By dealing with the sensorial materials, perceptions become concrete and thus responsive. The aim is to promote language as a form of personal expression. At Meadows Montessori, this expression is in both in German and in English.

Montessori sensorial material

The meaning sensorial material is the support and refinement of the senses, the formation of order, the understanding of perceptions, the differentiation of structures. The material for developing the senses enables the child to classify, compare and describe impressions (weight, color, pressure, sound, smell). The materials (identities, contrasts, gradations) primarily serve the best possible development and expression of the human senses.

Montessori Mathematics

The exercises of practical life and the sensorial materials form the basis for the understanding of mathematics. The materials correspond to the sensorimotor needs and help the child with fascinating discoveries with numbers.

The goal of mathematics is the development of thought processes and the promotion of the "mathematical mind" (from the concrete to the abstract). It is about the "grasping" and the learning of the numbers and the payment system.

Montessori cultural and cosmic education

Cultural and cosmic education seeks to connect with all levels of life and offers children a wonderful opportunity to build understanding and friendship for other cultures and other areas of life. The children get an insight into the ecological nature and discover the meaning, the value and the responsibility for our world. The cosmic materials include, among others the areas: geography, music, art, natural sciences, biology and zoology.

 

To take advantage of the Montessori program, the children should visit Meadows Montessori at least 4 times a week. (1/2 days or 2 full days).

The development of your child

In the interest of the child, the parents and the Meadows Montessori,agree that the first 3 months are a "probationary period". After 2 months the parents are invited to discuss the probationary period of the child. Should either the child or the parents be unhappy, or if we experience problems as teachers, we together with the parents strive to find the best possible solution. .

Each year, the parents are invited to a personal parental meeting with the teachers to discuss the progress of their child.

 

 

Who was Maria Montessori?

Learn more about Maria Montessori.

•  

Montessori-Pädagogik

Meadows Montessori stellt sich vor

Die Montessori-Pädagogik wurde Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts von Dr. Maria Montessori, der ersten Ärztin Italiens, entwickelt und basiert auf der Erkenntnis, dass Kinder, einem inneren Entwicklungsplan folgend, sich selbst aufbauen und dabei verschiedene, sogenannte sensible Phasen durchlaufen. Sensible Phasen sind Zeiträume besonderer Empfänglichkeit für Lerninhalte unterschiedlicher Art, Phasen also, in welcher die Kinder einen bestimmten Lerninhalt in kürzester Zeit, mit absoluter Leichtigkeit und nachhaltig erwerben (z.B. eine Sprache).

Die vorbereitete Umgebung im Kinderhaus soll von den Lehrkräften aufgrund ihrer Beobachtungen und der daraus resultierenden Erkenntnisse laufend so angepasst werden, dass das Kind dort jederzeit Materialien findet, die seinem derzeitigen Entwicklungsstand entsprechen die aktuellen Lernschritte unterstützen und sein Interesse wecken.


Die Montessori Welt umfasst
5 Umgebungen:

Übungen des täglichen Lebens

Sie zählen zu den ersten Aktivitäten in einer Montessori Umgebung und beinhalten eine Vielzahl häuslicher Arbeiten. Sie entsprechen der Sensibilität für Bewegung und fördern die Entwicklung einer koordinierten Fein- und Grobmotorik. Es geht zuerst um das reine Tun, das Wie der Bewegungen und Handhabungen. Die Tätigkeiten im täglichen Leben dienen dem Kind der inneren Entwicklung, besonders der physischen, geistigen und moralischen Entwicklung.

Montessori Sprache

Die Beschäftigung mit den Tätigkeiten des täglichen Lebens bringt oft erstmals Dinge „zur Sprache“. Durch den Umgang mit den Sinnesmaterialien werden Wahrnehmungen konkret und damit ansprechbar. Ziel ist es, die Sprache als eine Form des persönlichen Ausdrucks zu fördern. Bei Meadows Montessori, wird dieser Ausdruck sowohl in Deutsch als auch in Englisch gefordert.

Montessori Sinnesmaterial

Das Sinnesmaterial dient der Unterstützung und Verfeinerung der Sinne, dem Bilden von Ordnungen, dem Verstehen von Wahrnehmungen, dem Differenzieren von Strukturen. Das Material zur Entwicklung der Sinne befähigt das Kind, Eindrücke zu ordnen, zu klassifizieren, zu vergleichen und zu beschreiben (Gewicht, Farbtöne, Druck, Geräusche, Töne, Geruch). Die Materialien (Identitäten, Kontraste, Abstufungen) dienen primär einer möglichst optimalen Entwicklung und Ausprägung der menschlichen Sinne.

Montessori Mathematik

Die Übungen des täglichen Lebens und die Sinnesmaterialien bilden die Grundlagen für das Verständnis von Mathematik. Die Materialien entsprechen den sensomotorischen Bedürfnissen und verhelfen dem Kind zu faszinierenden Entdeckungen mit Zahlen.

Das Ziel der Mathematik ist die Entwicklung von Denkprozessen und die Förderung des „mathematischen Geistes“(vom Konkretem zum Abstraktem). Es geht um das „Be-Greifen“ und das Erlernen der Zahlen und des Zahlensystems.

Montessori kulturelle und kosmische Erziehung

Die kulturelle und kosmische Erziehung sucht die Verbindung zu allen Ebenen des Lebens und bietet den Kindern eine wunderbare Gelegenheit, Verständnis und Freundschaft für andere Kulturen und andere Lebensbereiche aufzubauen. Die Kinder erhalten eine Einblick in die ökologischen Naturzusammenhänge und entdecken den Sinn, den Wert und die Verantwortung für unsere Welt. Die kosmischen Materialien umfassen u.a. die Bereiche: Geografie, Musik, Kunst, Naturwissenschaften, Biologie und Zoologie.

 

Um die Vorteile des Montessori Programms auszuschöpfen, sollten Kinder mindestens 4 Mal pro Woche den Meadows Montessori besuchen.

Die Entwicklung Ihres Kindes

Im Interesse des Kindes, dessen Eltern und dem Meadows Montessori sind die ersten 3 Monate eine "Probezeit". Nach 2 Monaten werden die Eltern eingeladen, die Probezeit des Kindes zu besprechen. Sollte entweder das Kind oder die Eltern unglücklich sein, oder wir als Lehrer Probleme erleben, suchen wir zusammen die bestmögliche Lösung.

Jedes Jahr werden die Eltern zu einem persönlichen Elterngespräch mit den Lehrerinnen eingeladen, um den Fortschritt ihres Kindes zu besprechen.

 

 

Wer war Maria Montessori?

Erfahren Sie mehr über Maria Montessori.